Our People

The Board consists of three members (the Commissioners) nominated by the Minister and appointed by the Governor.

The HSCG Act requires that one of the Commissioners appointed must have legal expertise and experience that is deemed to be suitable by the Minister and two must have expertise in the area of trusts or financial management, or other expertise, knowledge or experience deemed suitable by the Minister.

The Commissioners are currently:

Chairman – Robyn Pak-Poy

Robyn is a retired lawyer, formerly a partner of Minter Ellison Lawyers, with more than 25 years in practice.  Her principal areas of practice included corporate commercial/business advice and dispute resolution, reconstructions and workouts, trade practices and corporations law and governance issues.

She is a former member of the Takeovers Panel (Commonwealth) and the Legal Practitioners Education and Admission Council and former chair of the boards of South Australian Ambulance Service and the then Southern Adelaide Health Service as well as a member of various associated committees.

Commissioner – Villis Marshall

Professor Marshall is recognised internationally as an eminent urology consultant, educator and researcher. His experience spans the provision of clinical services, general management of public hospitals, and improvement in safety and quality in healthcare settings. He has over 300 publications.

Professor Marshall held faculty appointments at the London Hospital Medical College, St Peters Hospital and Royal Adelaide Hospital before serving as head of urology at Flinders Medical Centre and subsequently Professor and Chair of Surgery at Flinders University. Professor Marshall was also the General Manager and Clinical Director of Surgical Specialties Service at the Royal Adelaide Hospital, and Clinical Professor of Surgery at Adelaide University.

In 2006 Professor Marshall was awarded Companion of the Order of Australia for service to medicine in urology and kidney disease research. In 1999 he received the highest award of the Order of St John for more than 20 years’ service in supporting the training of volunteer ambulance personnel throughout Australia. Professor Marshall is also a distinguished fellow and past president of the Urological Society of Australia. He retired from the Royal Adelaide Hospital in 2012.

Professor Marshall is the Chair of the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care having held that role since 2012.

Professor Marshall also held the position of part time Director of the Office for Research at the Southern Adelaide Local Health Network from 2016 to 2018.

Commissioner – Lino Di Lernia

Lino has worked in senior executive and management roles over a distinguished career in South Australia, interstate and overseas.  He has significant experience in negotiating and structuring complex transactions and problem resolution.  He also has extensive experience in the management and delivery of major projects, particularly in relation to infrastructure.

Lino’s roles include, but are not limited to, Deputy CEO of the Department of Planning Transport and Infrastructure, CEO of the Motor Accident Commission, Commissioner, Managing Director and Chief Finance Officer of Australian National Railways Commission (ANRC).

Since mid-2014 Lino has been a consultant specialising in problem resolution, work-outs and interim executive roles including with the Adelaide City Council as Finance Director, and Willoughby City Council in NSW in a variety of roles including Acting CEO.  He is currently managing a number of projects on behalf of the Willoughby City Council.

During his career, Lino has also been on various Boards including that of TransAdelaide, Santos Athletic Stadium and ANRC.  Lino is also a Graduate and Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


A full time Executive Officer, Chris Peirce, and two part time administrators assist the Board.